SpotAso Mountain Ranges

Five mountains - Mount Naka-dake, Mount Taka-dake, Mount Neko-dake, Mount Kijima-dake and Mount Eboshi-dake (located in the center of outer rim of the crater - 19 km east-west and 24 km north-south) are collectively called Aso-san. Aso-san has been worshipped as a sacred mountain. Those who witnessed and heard the overwhelming power of the mountain's infernos believed it was a kind of god and revered it. Aso began erupting about 300,000 years ago and 4 large eruptions, the last one of which was 90,000 years ago, formed the current caldera.

Aso Mountain Ranges


Aso city, Kumamoto





Related Spots

Old Hosokawa Gyobu-tei HouseThis is the residence of Hosokawa Gyobu's family, the chief retainer of the clan. It is 990 square ... Read

Kumamoto Prefectural Museum The massive building in the castle site permanently displays Hosokawa family treasures. Read

Natsume Soseki Uchitsuboi KyukyoNatsume Soseki (author, 1867-1916) arrived at Go-ko (now Kumamoto University) as an English teacher... Read

Recommended Restaurant

Recommended Destinations

Recommended Event


Copyright © 2000-2012 FINEX Co., Ltd.