SpotThe Features of Southern Kyushu

Kyushu Island is located in the southwest of Japan. Japan’s third largest island consists of two regions, namely, Northern Kyushu and Southern Kyushu. Southern Kyushu is divided into Kagoshima Prefecture and Miyazaki Prefecture. The region including Kagoshima and southern Miyazaki was called “Satsuma” from the Muromachi period (1392-1573) to the Edo period (1603-1867). The region was ruled by the Shimazu domain lords, and it had its own distinctive culture. It has many regions which are settings for legends or tales of the Kumaso and Hayato tribes of ancient warriors. Mountainous areas have many villages which preserve legends of fleeing Heike warriors. The Heike were the losers in the climatic power struggle between the Miyamoto and Heike clans in the late 12th century.

The Features of Southern Kyushu


Related Spots

TenmonkanThis is Kagoshima’s largest amusement area. All kinds of shops and restaurants can be found here. Read

Mt.SakurajimaThe symbol of Kagoshima is Mt. Sakurajima. This active volcano can be viewed from every place in th... Read

Shoko-shuseikanOriginally, this facility was built as a Western-style factory by the 28th Satsuma feudal lord, Shi... Read

Recommended Restaurant

Recommended Destinations

Recommended Event


Copyright © 2000-2012 FINEX Co., Ltd.