Strolling around old storehouses and cruising is enjoyable. An excursion to Mt. Ohira to view the many seasonal flowers is also sure to be a pleasing experience.
The grave of Tokugawa Ieyasu, the founder of the Edo shogunate who died in 1616, was moved to Mt. Nikko in 1617. After that, an Imperial envoy from Kyoto made a pilgrimage to Nikko Toshogu Shrine every year. Tochigi prospered as an inn town on the way to Nikko and also as a commercial shipping town. Wealthy merchants built plastered storehouses along the Uzuma River.
Tochigi Kuranomachi Museum of Art is housed in three storehouses of a wealthy merchant built about 200 years ago. These large storehouses are some of the oldest among the 250 still remaining in Tochigi City. Tochigi Kuranomachi Kanko-kan is housed in three different types of buildings in a row: a mise-gura (shop) built in 1904, a residential house, and a warehouse. Take a short, romantic cruise down the Uzuma River, formerly used for shipping between Edo and Tochigi, and enjoy the views of the storehouses and the river breezes on a sightseeing boat for about 15 minutes. Yokoyama Kyodokan (Folk Museum) was formerly the residence and business premises of a wealthy merchant who ran a wholesale hemp business and a bank business. Okada Kinen-kan/Bettei Okinajima belongs to the original family owners with a more than 500-year history. The hereditary treasures of the family are stored in the warehouse on the vast premises.