facebook twitter instagram youtube RSS

Suwa Taisha shrine complex


UpdateMarch 27, 2018
ReleaseMarch 27, 2018

Suwa Taisha shrine complex consists of four shrines, and Kamisha (“Upper Shrine” consisting of Harumiya and Akimiya) and Shimosha (“Lower Shrine,” consisting of Honmiya and Maemiya) are located on opposite sides of Lake Suwa. First, go to calm and quiet Harumiya of Shimosha, and then to Akimiya of Shimosha where the number of visitors is the largest among the four shrines of Suwa Taisha. The huge shimenawa, or stylized sacred straw rope, is very impressive. Log pillars (onbashira) of the four corners of the shrine building are hewed from gigantic trees cut during the Onbashira Festival.